Sponsored by the School of Arts and Humanities, the Marcia Kinsey Visiting Writers Series brings award-winning writers to campus to read from their work, talk about their writing, and interact with our students.

Both the St. Edward's and larger Austin community benefit from the novelists, poets, and playwrights who come to campus. These working artists inspire students and add dimension to professors' curriculum. For more information about the Marcia Kinsey Visiting Writers Series, please contact Associate Professor Sasha West at swest1@stedwards.edu.

Visiting Writers Logo

Visiting Writers Enjoy A Hilltop Welcome

Students at St. Edward’s had the chance to meet three highly accomplished writers this fall when Jonathan Safran Foer, Mindy Kaling and Eula Biss visited campus.

2022-2023 Visiting Writers

Jenny Tinghui Zhang
September 20 at 6pm
Location: Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Photo of author Jenny Tinghui Zhang in orange blouse looking directly at camera

Jenny Tinghui Zhang is a Chinese American writer and author of the novel Four Treasures of the Sky (Flatiron Books). Her fiction and nonfiction have appeared in ApogeeNinth LetterPassages NorthThe RumpusHuffPostThe CutCatapult, and elsewhere. She holds an MFA from the University of Wyoming and has received support from Kundiman, Tin House, and VONA/Voices. She was born in Changchun, China, and grew up in Austin, Texas, where she currently lives.

Register for free parking

Emily Pérez
October 13 at 6pm
Location: Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Photo of author Emily Pérez in red glasses and a pink shirt looking at the camera and smiling

Emily Pérez is the author of What Flies Want, winner of the Iowa Prize; House of Sugar, House of Stone; and two chapbooks. She is co-editor of the anthology The Long Devotion: Poets Writing Motherhood. A CantoMundo fellow and Ledbury Critic, she’s received support from Hedgebrook, Bread Loaf, The Community of Writers, Jack Straw Writers, and The Artist Trust. Her poetry has appeared in Poetry Northwest, Prairie Schooner, Copper Nickel, and Poetry and her reviews can be found in RHINO, LARB, The Guardian, and The Georgia Review. She teaches high school in Denver, where she lives with her family. Find more at www.emilyperez.org.

Erika Meitner
January 19 at 6pm
Location: Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186) 

Erika Meitner

Erika Meitner is the author of six books of poems, including Ideal Cities (Harper Perennial)—a National Poetry Series winner; Copia (BOA Editions); and Holy Moly Carry Me (BOA Editions), winner of the 2018 National Jewish Book Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry. Her poems have been published most recently in The New Yorker, The New Republic, OrionVirginia Quarterly ReviewThe BelieverPoetry, and elsewhere. Meitner is currently a professor of English and MFA program director at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her newest book, Useful Junk, was published by BOA Editions in 2022. 

Tomás Q. Morín
February 21 at 6pm
Location: Carter Auditorium (JBWS 186)

Author photo of Tomás Q. Morín, a man with shirt black hair and a mustache in a blue shirt. He is looking up at the sky in front of a gray wall with a tree in the background.

Tomás Q. Morín is the author most recently of the poetry collection Machete and the memoir Let Me Count the Ways. He is coeditor, with Mari L’Esperance, of Coming Close: Forty Essays on Philip Levine and is translator of The Heights of Macchu Picchu by Pablo Neruda. His work has appeared in The New York Times, The Nation, Poetry, Slate, and Boston Review. He is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, and the Civitella Ranieri Foundation. He teaches at Rice University and Vermont College of Fine Arts.

Previous Visiting Writers

Previous Visiting Writers Series speakers include:

  • Kazim Ali
  • Eula Biss
  • Jericho Brown
  • Oscar Caseres
  • Cyrus Cassells
  • Ana Castillo
  • Denise Chavez
  • Lucille Clifton
  • Natalie Diaz
  • Steven Dietz
  • Doug Dorst
  • Jennifer duBois
  • Nathan Englander
  • Tarfia Faizullah
  • David Wright Faladé
  • Carrie Fountain
  • Ben Fountain
  • Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Raul Garza
  • Jorie Graham
  • Virginia Grise
  • Joy Harjo
  • Terrance Hayes
  • Marie Howe
  • A Van Jordan
  • Phillip Levine
  • Ada Limón
  • Karan Mahajan
  • Sarah Manguso
  • Elizabeth McCracken
  • Dinaw Mengestu
  • Debra Monroe
  • Dinty Moore
  • Naomi Shihab Nye
  • Emmy Pérez
  • Roger Reeves
  • Antonio Ruiz-Camacho
  • Karen Russell
  • Diane Seuss
  • ire'ne lara silva
  • Gary Soto
  • Natalia Sylvester
  • Deb Olin Unferth
  • Jean Valentine
  • Jesús I. Valles
  • Derek Walcott
  • Monica Wood
  • Tiphanie Yanique
  • Dean Young